[Solved in 5.3] Adopted / Foster / Step child

If you've programmed a new HuMo-genealogy feature (that you'd like to see included in the official version), please upload and describe your work here.
kintree

[Solved in 5.3] Adopted / Foster / Step child

Post by kintree »

Huub

I find that a non-biological child can be mistakenly shown by HuMo-gen on the DNA chart of adoptive/foster/step parents.

I am working on a test to prevent this - it's quite easy with a GEDCOM from FTM, because a child's relationship (Natural/Adopted/Step/Foster/Guardian) to each parent is recorded:
0 @Fnnn@ FAM
1 CHIL
2 _FREL [relationship to HUSB (parent/guardian, not necessarily male)]
2 _MREL [relationship to WIFE (parent/guardian, not necessarily female)]

While studying this problem, I am also studying HuMo-gen's code dealing with Aldfaer's use of PEDI:
0 @Innn@ INDI
1 FAMC
2 PEDI [values: adopted, steph, legal, foster]

It seems that the INDI.FAMC.PEDI method can only record a relationship with BOTH parents.

Can you please tell me what Aldfaer mean by 'legal' ? (I understand 'adopted', 'steph' and 'foster' OK)

Thanks
Huub
HuMo-genealogy programmer

Re: Adopted / Foster / Step child

Post by Huub »

I don't use the Aldfaer program, I think "legal" is a legitimate child. Eeh, I don't know why this is used...
It seems that the INDI.FAMC.PEDI method can only record a relationship with BOTH parents.
I think gedcom isn't a very good protocol, it's more a guideline. Adoption is one of the many problems in gedcom...

These codes were allready prepared in the HuMo-gen gedcom read script (admin/include/gedcom_cls.php):
2 _FREL [relationship to HUSB (parent/guardian, not necessarily male)]
2 _MREL [relationship to WIFE (parent/guardian, not necessarily female)]
But it wasn't finished yet...
Also see topic: http://www.humo-gen.com/genforum/viewto ... =15&t=1486
HuMo-genealogy update? Backup your database! Editing in HuMo-genealogy? Backup your data!